Liendo Plantation is closed to the public permanently for ALL tours and events.
History of Liendo Plantation
Liendo Plantation was built in 1853 as the centerpiece to one of the state’s earliest cotton plantations. The Greek Revival style home has been lovingly restored and is maintained as a National historic landmark, a private home and a working cattle ranch. A true gem of historical preservation in modern day Texas, Liendo has stood the test of time.
Considered to be the social center of Texas in its day, Liendo was known for receiving and lavishly entertaining many dignitaries. The original owners , the Groce family, are commonly credited with founding Texas agriculture. Frequent guests of theirs included many of the founding fathers of our great state! Many fascinating people have occupied Liendo Plantation over the years, including the world renowned sculptress Elisabet Ney and her husband Dr. Edmond Montgomery.
In 1960 Carl and Phylis Detering purchased Liendo with the goal of restoring it to its former glory. After refurbishing the home, they traveled extensively to acquire the appropriate furnishings to complete the experience of historical accuracy. Although it was their private home and a working cattle ranch, the Deterings graciously opened Liendo to the public from 1973 through early 2020 to share their little piece of history with others. Liendo Plantation is recognized as a Texas historic landmark and is listed on the national register of historic places but is no longer open to the public.
Like Us On Facebook